A Higher National Diploma (HND) is a level 5 vocational qualification provided by higher and further education colleges. It takes two years to complete full-time, or three to four years if you study part-time. HNDs are practical-based courses, ideal for those wanting to enter the workforce or study towards paving the way for a Professional Bachelor’s program.

The Higher National Diploma (HND) is a two-year professional university program which focuses on learning by doing. It is designed to teach the knowledge and skills needed for employment and paving the way for a Bachelor’s Degree Program. The HND originated from the United Kingdom and has long been adopted by all Commonwealth nations. It was introduced in Cameroon in 2002 by Ministerial Order No. 02/0069/MINESUP/DDES.

The HND consists of four main components:

– General studies courses

– Foundation courses

– Professional courses

– Supervised Industrial Work Experience Scheme 

General studies courses are taken by all HND students in each specialty, these courses include; English, French, Civics, Ethics and Law.

Foundation courses are interdisciplinary courses taught to provide students with a solid background in their various specialties.

Professional courses constitutes the main courses that students study to develop the specialist knowledge and skills in a chosen field of study.

HND is necessary for career progression. You might undertake an HND related to a field of work you already have experience in to gain more professional status.

The HND is earned in Cameroon through a national examination organized each academic year in one session by the Ministry of Higher Education through the National Committee for the Organization of Higher National Diploma (HND) Examinations. The examination is open only to those who have completed the program course work and research projects, after passing the prescribed examinations in an institution of Higher Learning approved by the Ministry of Higher Education.